Home » Templar History

The Larmenius Charter

31 March 2010 No Comment

While history certainly shows that the Templars were dissolved in 1312 with the papal bull Vox in Excelso, there exists a manuscript – largely discredited by historians – which purports to be a list of the Grand Masters of the Templars following the death of Jacques de Molay in 1314. This document, referred to as the Larmenius Charter or Carta Transmissionis, suggests that de Molay transferred the reins of the Order to Jean-Marc Larmenius while in prison. According to those who believe the legitimacy of the document and its claims, Larmenius carried on the duties of Grand Master in secret until the Order was made public in 1804.

Larmenius Charter List of Grand Masters
1313-1324 John-Marc Larmenius

1324-1340 Thomas Theobald of Alexandria

1340-1349 Arnaud de Braque

1349-1357 Jean de Claremont

1357-1381 Bertrand du Guesclin

1381-1392 Bernard Arminiacus

1419-1451 Jean Arminiacus

1451-1472 Jean de Croy

1472-1478 Bernard Imbault

1478-1497 Robert Leononcourt

1497-1516 Galeatius de Salazar

1516-1544 Phillippe Chabot

1544-1574 Gaspard de Galtiaco Tavanensis

1574-1615 Henri de Montmorency

1615-1651 Charles de Valois

1651-1681 Jacques Ruxellius de Granceio

1681-1705 Jacques Henri Duc de Duras

1705-1724 Phillippe, Duc d’Orleans

1724-1737 Louis Augustus Bourbon

1737-1741 Louis Henri Bourbon Conde

1741-1776 Louis-Francois Boubon Conti

1776-1792 Louis-Hercule Timoleon, Duc de Cosse Brissac

1792-1804 Claude-Mathieu Radix de Chavillon

1804-1838 Bernard Raymond Fabre Palaprat

Visit The Store Today

CATEGORIES | Templar History | Templar Mysteries | Modern Templars | Crusades | Book Reviews |

Comments are closed.